IMFS calls for nominations for the:

2020 Thomson Medal Award

To be awarded at the

23rd Unternational Mass Spectrometry Conference,

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.  August 29 - September 4, 2020

For further deteails about the conference: https:/

Nominations are requested from national mass spectrometry societies and groups for the 2020 Thompson Medal Award.  Two medals will be awarded during the 23rd International Mass Spectrometry Conference in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, August 29 - September 4, 2020

The Thomson Medal Award is named after Sir J. J. Thomson, who was responsile for the first mass spectrograph and its resulting data more than 100 years ago.  He also predicted many features of modern mass spectrometry.  He discovered the electron using mass spectrometry and won the Nobel Prize in 1906 for his research.

The Thomson Medal Award is sponsored by the International Mass Spectrometry Foundation (IMSF), and the first awards were made in 1985.  Previous winners are:

2018: A. Heck and J. R. Yates

2016: M. Eberlin and S. A. McLuckey

2014: C. V. Robinson and R. Zenobi

2012: R. Aebersold, A. Makarov and F. Turecek

2009: C. E. Costello, C. C. Fenselau and P. Roepstorff

2006: J. H. Bowie, M. L. Gross and M. Karas

2003: R. M. Caprioli, F. Hillenkamp and V. L. Talrose

2000: J. B. Fenn, D. F. Hunt and A. G. Marshall

1997: M. T. Bowers, D. E. Games and J. F. J. Todd

1994: C. Brunnée, C. Djerassi and H. Schwarz

1991: K. Biemann, H. Matsuda and N. M. M. Nibbering

1985: J. H. Beynon, R. G. Cooks, K. R. Jennings, F. W. McLafferty and A. O. C. Nier


The rules for the nomination and voting process are as follows:

1. Nominations are to be made only by the designated representatives of each National Affiliate of

the IMSF.


2. Each National Affiliate’s representative may make up to three nominations.  Each nomination is limited to the length of one page and should detail the principal achievements of the nominee.

(Deadline November 30, 2019)


3. Award winners should be accomplished in both of the following areas:

(a) Outstanding achievements in mass spectrometry

(b) Distinguished services to international mass spectrometry societies


Those involved in the nomination and voting process should note that the words “for service

to international mass spectrometry” are inscribed on the medal.


4. A preliminary vote, using the Borda count system (6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1), will determine the top six

candidates. The voters will consist of the representatives of each National Affiliate of the IMSF.

(Deadline January 31, 2019)


5. The sponsors of the top six candidates will each submit additional information of the candidates’ achievements, limited to no more than five pages. (Only one sponsor is permitted per candidate; in

the event that there is more than one sponsor per candidate, the multiple sponsors will agree on a

single sponsor.) This material may include up to two letters which are for information only, and

should not be seen as a form of endorsement. (Deadline February 21, 2020)

6. A second vote by the representatives of each National Affiliate of the IMSF, using the same

voting system, will select the top two candidates as the award winners. (Deadline March 21, 2020)

7. Nominations and votes should be sent to the chair of the 2020 Thomson Award Committee

through e-mail: (Prof. Catherine E. Costello)