President: Lekha Sleno Email
Vice-President: Derek Wilson Email
Treasurer Terry Cyr Email
Secretary Kerry Peru Email
Past President: Paul Mayer Email

Lekha Sleno, President
Lekha Sleno is a professor in the chemistry department at UQAM (Université du Québec à Montréal) since 2008. Her research interests focus on studying reactive metabolites covalently binding to proteins and developing new metabolomics-based methods using liquid chromatography coupled to tandem mass spectrometry (LC-MS/MS). Originally from Montreal, she did her BSc (2002) in Biochemistry at Concordia University, followed by a PhD (2006) at Dalhousie (Chemistry, Prof. Dietrich Volmer), focused on bioanalytical mass spectrometry. She then went on to the University of Geneva (with Gerard Hopfgartner) in Switzerland for a first post-doc in pharmaceutical mass spectrometry, working on reactive drug metabolites, followed by a second post-doc at University of Toronto (with Andrew Emili) in proteomics.

Contact info:
Professor Lekha Sleno
Chemistry Department
Université du Québec à Montréal
PO Box 8888 Downtown Station
Montreal, QC H3C 3P8
1-514-987-3000 x1599

Derek J. Wilson, Vice President
Derek J. Wilson Started his scientific career by studying drama and vocal performance in the Arts York high school program in Markham, Ontario. Shunning the fame and fortune he would inevitably have garnered as a broadway superstar, Derek enrolled in the biochemistry program at Trent University in Peterborough where he did his undergraduate thesis in protein folding under Dr. Steven Rafferty. This was followed by a bioanalytical mass spectrometry-oriented PhD at the University of Western Ontario under the gentle tutelage of Dr. Lars Konermann, who is very tall and also german. After first breaking a very expensive stopped-flow instrument, the PhD went well. There were awards from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and 7 academic papers. This lead to an NSERC-funded post-doctoral stint at Cambridge under the stellar Prof. Chris Dobson, in which Derek was at best partially successful in learning biophysical Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR). Just before he left for that post-doc, he was interviewed at York and, amazingly, they decided to hire him! His research group at York focuses on the development and application of Mass Spectrometry and Microfluidics to challenging problems in biochemistry, including the underpinnings of enzyme catalysis and the molecular origins of neurodegenerative disease. His fundamental work is supported by NSERC, the Alzheimer's Society of Canada and the Krembil Foundation with application development partnerships with Sanofi Pasteur, Sciex and Apotex among other companies.

Contact info:

Derek Wilson
Associate Professor, Chemistry
York University
Director, Centre for Research in Mass Spectrometry
Manager, Mass Spectrometry Enabled Science and Engineering

Toronto, ON Canada

1-416-736-2100 xt 20786

Terry Cyr, Treasurer

Contact info:
Terry D. Cyr, Ph.D.
Research Scientist
Protein Structure and Analysis Laboratories
Centre for Vaccine Evaluation
Biologics and Genetic Therapies Directorate
Health Products and Foods Branch
AL 2201E, 251 Sir Frederick Banting Driveway
Ottawa, ON Canada K1A 0K9
Tel: 1-613-957-1068
Email: Terry_Cyr@hc-sc.gc.ca
Fax: 1-613-941-8933

Kerry Peru, Secretary
Kerry M. Peru is the Senior Organic Mass Spectrometry Technologist with the Aquatic Ecosystem Protection Research Division, Environment Canada, Saskatoon. His primary research interests include the fate, transport and characterization of toxic substances from Western Canada’s oil sands industry, remediation strategies and the development of new methodologies utilizing high resolution and tandem mass spectrometry.

Kerry is recognized by his peers nationally and internationally by his contributions in the field of environmental mass spectrometry; he has co-authored over 60 externally peer-reviewed publications, book and encyclopedia chapters and numerous conference proceedings/presentations.  He has been involved in many international collaborative research studies pertaining to environmental contaminant research. Mr. Peru serves is Chairman of the Program Advisory Committee to the Chemical Technology Program, Saskatchewan Institute of Science and Technology and was formerly the Chair of the Saskatchewan Mass Spectrometry User’s Group.  He is active in advancing education in the area of analytical chemistry by serving as technical supervisor for research of organic contaminants in aquatic environments for many graduate students/post docs over the course of his career (approximately 35 to date).

Kerry participates as part of the organizing committee for the Tandem Mass Spectrometry Workshop - Lake Louise, Alberta and chairs the organizing committee for the Western Canadian Trace Organic Workshop when held in Saskatchewan. 

Mr. Peru has received both a Suggestion Award and a Citation of Excellence from the National Water Research Institute, Environment Canada recognizing his efforts and accomplishments relating to the research of the fate and transport of toxic substance in the environment. Kerry has received two national awards: 1) the “Caledon Award” which recognizes “significant scientific, technological or administrative contributions to the analytical chemistry of trace organic residues"  and 2)  The “Norman and Marion Bright Memorial Award” (CIC Canada) which is presented to an individual who has made an “outstanding contribution in Canada to the furtherance of Chemical Technology”.  In 2009, Mr. Peru received an Honorary Diploma in Science and Health from the Saskatchewan Institute of Science and Technology.

Contact info:
Kerry M. Peru
Watershed Hydrology and Ecology Research Division
Water Science and Technology Directorate
Science and Technology Branch, Environment Canada
11 Innovation Blvd.
Saskatoon, SK., Canada S7N 3H5
Tel: 1-306-975-4206
Email: Kerry.Peru@canada.ca
Fax: 1-306-975-5143

Paul Mayer, Past President

Paul Mayer is Professor of Chemistry at the University of Ottawa, where he has been since 1998.  His research interests lie in the fundamental aspects of gas phase ion reactions and processes occurring in mass spectrometers.  He was the 2008 recipient of the F.P. Lossing Award.  He obtained his BSc from the University of Manitoba in 1990, followed by a PhD with John Holmes at the University of Ottawa in 1994.  He held postdoctoral positions with Tomas Baer (UNC Chapel Hill) and Leo Radom (ANU, Canberra, Australia), prior to his appointment at the University of Ottawa.

Contact info:
Prof. Paul M. Mayer
Chemistry Department
University of Ottawa
10 Marie Curie
Ottawa, ON Canada K1N 6N5
1-613-562-5800 x 6038