Young Investigator Award 

The CSMS presents a biennial award to an accomplished young Canadian mass spectrometrist. The award consists of a $2000 CAD award and certificate commemorating the accomplishments and achievements of an early career researcher. The awardee will be invited to speak at the Lake Louise Tandem Mass Spectrometry Workshop in Lake Louise, AB in the year that they receive the award.

The award recognizes the accomplishments of an early career researcher that have significant impact to the field of mass spectrometry with anticipation of any future impact as a secondary consideration.  The impact may be observed not only in the form of publications, presentations and academic honours, but also in the form of technological innovation and policy development.

Nominations should be made by a 3rd party and a complete nomination package should adhere to the following:

  1. Eligible candidates must be a member of the CSMS
  2. Eligible candidates must be within 15 years of receiving their PhD
  3. Applicants must currently hold a position in Canada, OR be of Canadian citizenship working abroad

  4. Nomination package should consist of:
  • A cover letter from the nominator outlining the candidate’s most significant contributions since obtaining their PhD
  • The candidate’s CV
  • Two or more letters of support from individuals outside of the candidate’s immediate workplace who can comment on the impact of their contributions.

Nominations will be held and considered for two award cycles if the eligibility criteria remains (including the one for which the nomination was originally submitted). Nominators are responsible for keeping the file up to date.

Nominations are due by May 1st of each calendar year, but for 2022 the deadline has been extended to May 15.

The next Young Investigator Award will be awarded in 2022.

Please send your nominations to the CSMS Secretary.

2021 Recipient: Antoine Dufour

Previous CSMS Young Investigator Award Recipients:

Scott Hopkins (2020), Dajana Vuckovic (2019), Jeff Smith (2018)