Student Travel Awards


To the Lake Louise Tandem Mass Spectrometry Workshop (3)

Applications for 2023 should be prepared by a graduate student or post-doc and emailed to Dr. Lars Konermann (konerman@uwo.caby September 11, 2023.

Three CSMS travel grants supported by Thermo Fisher, Waters Corporation, and AB SCIEX of $2000 (CA) to allow a senior Graduate Student/postdoctoral fellow in a Canadian University to travel to and present an oral presentation at the Lake Louise Tandem Mass Spectrometry Workshop. Unsuccessful applications (with the exception of postdoctoral fellow applications) will automatically be considered for the Lake Louise Student Travel Awards offered by the Workshop itself.

All applications shall include a CV and an abstract (500 words) on the nature of the MS work, or MS work-in-progress to be presented at the workshop. A supporting letter from the respective research director/supervisor must also be sent. This is a great opportunity for a young scientist to meet world-class mass spectrometrists in an intimate and friendly setting. Selection of the winning application will be made by the CSMS Awards Selection Committee by September 26, 2023.

PLEASE NOTE:  Previous recipients of a CSMS $2000 student travel award are not eligible. Nominations are limited to one applicant per supervisorAll applicants must be members of CSMS.

To Attend The IMSC Conference (4) (next available in 2024 for IMSC in Melbourne, AU:

To apply, please send a covering letter along with your CV and conference abstract to the CSMS Secretary. These awards are open to all Masters and PhD students (Canadian or international) studying in Canada and Canadian students studying abroad as well as Canadian postdocs.

PLEASE NOTE: All applicants must be members of CSMS.


Please send all non-Lake Louise Workshop student travel award applications to the CSMS Secretary.

Previous CSMS Travel Award Recipients to Lake Louise:
Christian Ieritano, Lauren Katz, Arjun Sukumaran (2021), None in 2020 due to COVID-19, Neville Coughlan, Wei Jin, Samaneh Dastpeyman (2019), Timon Geib, Sam Sheilds, Chenxing Sun (2018), Felix Leung, Ping Jiang, Shen Zhang (2017), Haidy Metawally, Jason Serpa, Mona Hamada (2016), Ankit Sinha, Frederick Lamoliatte, Kyle Duncan (2015), Ling Han, Modupeola Sowole, Andre LeBlanc (2014), Dennis Orton, Chenxing (Angela) Sun, Siavash Vahidi (2013), Peter McQueen, Peter Liuni, Shaolong Zhu (2012), Daniel Beach, Yunee Kim, Justin Renaud (2011), Bradley Stocks, Christina Bell, Yang Kang (2010) Mathieu Courcelles, Sarah Elschenbroich, Dominik Domanski (2009), Brinda Shah, Janna Anichina, Elizabeth Gillis (2008), Brian Boys, Anne-Marie Boulanger & Daryl Smith (2007), Diane Mataija, Sean Bendall & Leroi DeSouza (2006), Cory Sonntag & Svitlana Shcherbyna (2005), Xian Wang, Anas El-Aneed & Jeffrey C. Smith (2004), Panos Hatsis, Michael Shirm & Julie A.D. Grabowy (2003), Brij Verma, Marie-Soleil Giguere & H. El Aribi (2002), P. John Wright & Xiu-Sheng Miao (2001), Doug Simmons & Cheryl Moody (2000), Tanya Gamble (1999), Glenn Legault (1998), Christiane Aubry (1997), Daniel Boismenu (1996)

Previous CSMS Travel Award Recipients to ASMS:
Mays Al-Dulaymi (2019), Victor Yin (2018), Brendon Seale (2017), Nidia Lauzon (2016), Heath Patterson (2015), Andrew Cromwell (2014), Guru-Swamy Maduguanda (2013), Joshua Buse (2012), Jingxi Pan (2011), Emma Zheng & Simon Wang (2010), Christopher Hughes (2009), Nan Wang (2008), Bryce Young (2007), Michael Fedjaev, Clement Poon, Milica Tesic (2006), Annie Moradian (2005), Rui Chen (2004), Mike Bogan (2003)

Please visit our photo gallery to see all award winners.